When They Spoke – Tales By Inanimates

How often have we heard our mothers and grandmothers justifying their possessiveness about old and rusted objects, refusing to throw them away? “They are mementos. They have memories.” How often have we sniggered, “As if these could talk!” Just as often as we have exploited every single object that makes our life easier and whose easy availability we take for granted. We have never wondered what it feels to be used, exploited, and consumed, only to be discarded without a single look of gratitude; after all, eulogies and epitaphs are only for human beings. When They Spoke is about 29 inanimate beings who wonder if it would be more apt to define us as non-living things, because, as each of them prove, their heart seems to be in order, and beating at the right pace!

Buy Here.

 

Author: Radhika Maira Tabrez

Of the many things I am, the biggest parts are that of a mother and a writer. Life has been kind. It has been easy to love, and if ever came to that, easy to let go too. It has been easy to dream, as always is I guess, but not too difficult to chase them either. It has been challenging, as life is wont to get often, but nothing that didn't teach me a thing or two. I have many to call my own, to love and to cherish, but not too many so as to stifle my being. I have enough to feel blessed. But I do crave enough to never stop trying, either.

Leave a comment