Day 48 :: #100HappyDays

‪#‎100HappyDays‬

Day 48

I got on to the Sarabhai v/s Sarabhai bandwagon pretty late. I believe I had missed quite a few episodes by then. A colleagues incessant nagging got to me and that evening, I finally watched the first episode. I loved it. Apart from the fact that Ratna Pathak Shah killed it, it was a fresh and genuinely funny-without-being-crass kind of a comedy, which let’s accept it, we don’t make much here in India. I hear faint whispers of a show called ‘Yeh jo hai zindagi’ being fantabulous; supposedly one of the best comedy serials we’ve ever made. Unfortunately, I never got to see that. The only one I have seen, even though I was quite young back then and hence don’t remember much of was ‘Flop Show’ – a remarkable execution of a fantastic idea by a very talented Jaspal Bhatti. I think that was one show, well ahead of it’s time. Such fantastic satire and comedy, unparalleled, I think, to this day.

The Sarabhai family reminded me another similar, ‘sort of dysfunctional but in a sweet way’ family. The Barones from Everybody Loves Raymond. If you’ve not watched it, you are seriously missing something. Ray Romano, I believe was one of the highest paid TV stars for a while, when that show was on. Yeah! That good! I love that guy. You may remember him as Manny the Mammoth from Ice Age.

Anyway, back to the Sarabhais. I believe they would be visiting our TV screens again! And that is fantastic news! Something that even someone like me, who has sworn off television an not help but jump up and down with joy for.

Welcome Sarabhais. You have been missed. Sorely!

Sarabhai V/s Sarabhai is back 🙂

Leave a Reply

