Courage Is Grace Under Fire

A few days ago, I finally had the opportunity to visit Sheroes Hangouts in Lucknow. It is a cafe run by acid attack survivors and had two setups as of now; the first one in Agra and now in Lucknow.

This article came from the experience of that day; something that will stay with me forever.

I salute Lakshmi and her Team. More power to them!

INCREDIBLE WOMEN OF INDIA

13497933_1008403079228332_4662781349211262905_o

It’s not every day that we find ourselves in presence of someone great; and are faced with the realization that no matter what we do, we could never amount to even a fraction of all that they are. It’s even rarer to relish that feeling and bask in its afterglow, rather than detest it.

When I decided to go to Sheroes Hangout Lucknow for a reading session of our book Defiant Dreams, I knew what I would be witnessing. And yet, I wasn’t prepared in the least. I was overwhelmed, still am, by the effortless grit and the spry resilience, displayed by the women I met there. It was nothing but the simplest and most profound example of the indefatigable human spirit.

Sheroes café is run by acid attack survivors with the help of Stop Acid Attack Organization and Chaanv Foundation. I was fortunate enough to spend a lot of…

View original post 862 more words

Leave a Reply

