Day 17 :: #100HappyDays

‪#‎100HappyDays‬

Day 17

This morning, a friend, too started the #100HappyDays series. She too had faced the same doubts that I had, before I started… Is this even realistic? Would this be forcing us to concoct happiness where none exists?

But I am glad that she started anyway. I wish her luck.

Being happy is a state of mind. Like any other ideology it has to be indoctrinated. Are we saying that everything in life is always hunky dory? No. Are we saying that one shouldn’t acknowledge the blue moments? People, who know me well would know, the answer to that question, coming from me, can never be a No. The writer in me thrives on those shades of blue.

What I am trying to say with this series is that amidst the flotsam of all that happens in a day, I would like to pick a few things that made me happy and that’s the feeling I would like to shut my eyes with, as I call it a night.

Do I take this as a challenge? No. It is a series. Some days I might draw a blank. Some days I might be so beat up with all that that day had smacked me with, that I may not be in a very ‘thanks-giving’ mood. And that would be okay too. Because there would always be the next day.

And that’s what I am ‪#‎happy‬ about and ‪#‎thankful‬ for today.

For being reminded that happiness doesn’t mean an absolute absence of sorrow; rather just a presence of one overwhelming happy moment throughout the day. For realising, that happiness needs to be broken down to the smallest available unit…a smile from a baby in the mall, a stolen moment of leisure, a chance sighting of a forgotten bar of chocolate in the fridge, a perfectly brewed cup of ginger tea, a breakthrough moment after a frustrating writer’s block…okay, the last one is actually a fairly big one! But once you learn to simplify happiness like that, you can find it everywhere.

So Yes. It has been a #happy day. And I am #thankful for all it came with.

Leave a Reply

