Day 18 :: #100HappyDays

‪#‎100HappyDays‬

Day 18

A sport is like an old friend, I believe. Once you’ve got your relationship going up to a certain level, then regardless of how long you have been away, coming back to each other is quite easy. After the initial few moments of awkward re-introduction, a bit of catching up, it feels like you never really parted ways.

The last time I picked a badminton racket must have been in M.B.A. School. So that would make it no later than the spring of 2009. Now seven years later, when I walked into the court, to say that I was rusty would be an understatement. After two games that day, without doing a proper warm up I should add, lifting a coffee mug for the next two days felt as impossible as lifting Thor’s hammer. (Yeah! I give a lot of comic references now, don’t I?I realized it too, after writing this. But what would you expect from a three year old boy’s mom! :P)

Anyway, the next few days went better. We lost most of the games; won a few too, which I could only credit to my partner. But then today, was my first legitimate win. We were trailing at a 2-10, then made a remarkable recovery and won, Game-17. It’s a win I contributed equally to.

And that’s what I am ‪#‎happy‬ about and ‪#‎thankful‬ for.

For my body which came around, eventually. For my fellow players who have been nothing but a source of encouragement. For this sport, which welcomed me back so warmly, given how coldly I had abandoned it all those many years ago. And most importantly for the fact that so far I have not sustained any major injury, by over stretching my body, stiff as a dry log. tongue emoticon

Yes. It has been a #happy day. And I am #thankful for all that it came with. 🙂

We won!!! Yaaaay! 😀

Radhika Maira Tabrez - Writer's photo.
Leave a Reply

