Day 11 :: #100HappyDays

#100HappyDays
Day 11
It’s easy to guess what I am happy about today. Today, my writer’s page turned a year old! 🙂
This reminds me of a conversation I was having with my publisher the other day, that it is kind of unfair how much time and effort writers have to put on the social media these days. I was cribbing about how in the past, writers used to be those borderline asocial personalities, who’d hire a cottage in the woods (or the mountains, the more inaccessible the better!) and just write. They would send their manuscripts to their agents through post and be done with it. (It may not necessarily have been the case but that sure is how I had romanticized it in my head) So basically, you could waltz through your entire life in your PJs and never care for a haircut and shave, because you hardly came out and met anyone anyway. You wrote, and for whatever time was left, you read. What bliss!
And here we are now, the 21st century writers, who have to spend as much as time as writing, if not more on social media. Once I mastered, Facebook, I realized I must have a blog, I barely got that running and I was told, I practically don’t exist if I don’t have a Twitter account. Once I started tweeting, I was told Instagram is the final frontier, which I must now voyage into.
So here I was, a technically un-savvy writer trying to come to terms with the ever evolving technology and let’s face it, unsure most of the time of what I was doing.
But I can not deny, that thanks to this technology, I created this forum which I now use to connect with my reader and writer friends. Let’s face it, when I look at the ever growing number of likes on the left side of this page, I do feel ecstatic. Now that’s something that does beat living in a cabin in the woods, cut from the rest of the world! It beats it by quite a margin.
Yes. It has been a #Happy day. And I am #Thankful for all it came with. 🙂
Leave a Reply

