Day 2 :: #100HappyDays

#100HappyDays

Day 2

I started this day with a message from a fellow writer and someone I have the pleasure of calling a friend as well – Kanchana Banerjee – making me aware that I had goofed up on a link which I sent to a few people yesterday. She not only searched for the correct one, but also took the time to let me know of the gaffe. I remember a few days ago, another dear friend and writer Deepti Menon had read one of my articles, and wrote back to me regarding one spelling mistake that had somehow managed to slide past my and the editor’s proofreading eyes. That article was published as a part of a prestigious Women’s Day Celebration campaign and would have reached a lot of readers. Thanks to her heads up, that error was promptly corrected.

In the last year or so, since I started upon my journey as a professional writer, I have had the privilege of finding myself in the company of exceptional writers. Most of them have become good friends that I shall cherish for the rest of my life. Only yesterday, a very talented poet and friend Nitin Soni, guided me for good half an hour about what I should and shouldn’t do as I prepare to launch my debut novel. I am not at all ashamed to admit, that the young chap is at least ten years younger to me; but his wisdom and maturity in a lot of matters seems well above mine.

And that is what I am happy about and thankful for, today.

For writer friends who are a constant source of inspiration, encouragement and guidance. The ones I can buzz in the middle of the night because I need a sound board for an idea that isn’t letting me sleep. Who are as invested in my career and my growth as a writer, as I am; perhaps, even more. Whom I can send the crappiest of my work and they somehow still manage to help me make it presentable. Who make me feel OK about making mistakes because they have got my back.

Yes. It has been a good day. And I am thankful for all that it came with. šŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

